How to Make Backups on VPS Without WHM/Cpanel?

becak

hello everybody,
Well, recently i have bought a VPS and I got a trial WHM/CPanel with it and i have made the necessary arrangement to shift all my websites on it and i have created their accounts with the trial whm... but now in less than two weeks the trial whm/cpanel will be expired and thus ordering a whm/cpanel addon and he vps will cost me a total of about $40 each month...
facepalm.gif

and my budget does not permit me so
crying.gif

thus I'm searching a solution to make backups without using WHm/cPanel but couldn't find one that i could understand properly as i'm a newbie in this field
tongue.gif

so can anybody help me out? Use kloxo. It has inbuilt backup feature via FTP. no i'm not searching kloxo as i don't want to reinstall os...
moreover kloxo has some bugs..
i'm searching a imple way using ssh
sad.gif
without re-installation you can not install a new Control panel.

more over Kloxo is great , give it a try. Well if you cant afford cPanel it would be best for you to use some other control panel i.e kloxo, webmin, you have to reinstall everything.

This way you will always have issues if you use Trial cpanel and its expired.

Still if you wants to get backups take a look at mysql tutorials

http://www.google.gr/search?aq=f&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=backup+mysql++cli

Regards Depends on what you want to backup? Dump the databases to a directory which can't be accessed via http, and tarball it with any other configs etc, gzip it, download.

Code: tar -cf server_backup.tar /home/directorynamegzip server_backup.tarDownload the .tar.gz file to your PC via FTP or another method like rsync, then delete it from the server.

For example, if I had a site in /home/mysite/public_html/... I could dump the database in that /home/mysite, and tarball it all at once.