What type of managed hosting is best?

admin

Administrator
Staff member
I have an almost completely static HTML site that I manage using Frontpage right now (MySQL databases to come). I definitely need managed hosting, as I have very little knowledge of server management. But I would also like to occasionally ask my host for services like one-time software installation (for instance, an adserver), or to adjust things like the .htaccess file, etc (not sure if this stuff is included in "managed" hosting).

Here's what I know I need:

150+ gb transfer
2+ gb space
cPanel
Webmail
PHP/MySQL
Phone support
Daily backup
99% uptime

Budget:

$100-250/month

Security, uptime, and support are my main priorities.

Considering my budget is fairly decent for the traffic, should I go with shared managed hosting or dedicated managed hosting?What you're asking (in terms of script installation) wouldn't normally be included, but a real managed provider who builds you a custom solution would do that for you (rather than those that offer off the shelf packages).

For what you want, you're looking at the upper end of your budget for a dedicated, remember you want real management too ... that's proactive management where security upgrades are applied before your server gets compromised. In my opinion the companies that provde reactive management are completely useless unless you have a good idea of what you're doing.

You could also go down the shared hosting route on a low-contention package as your site does seem rather large. Although the fee will be considerably less, don't be tempted by any of these super cheap packages, if you want real service and real uptime, you have to pay for it.

Do you have any preference on server location?

DanI would like the server to be located in the US, if for no other reason than direct dial phone support.

What are the advantages of dedicated over shared in my situation? Is dedicated even necessary at this point?