Loading a dump file, how?

liunx

Hi everyone,

Im new to mysql soi please help. Ok im trying to install to my site this pre-made chat applet that i downladed. What is says is that i have to first create two databases. Ok i did that. Now it gives me a dump file that i have to laod to each of the databases. My friend told me i could just type the info into mysql and it would work. BUT there is sooooooooooooo much info to type.

Does anyone know an easy to use utility to load dump files into mysql?1) Copy the file to your mysql folder
2) Type the following:c:\mysql\bin> mysql
mysql> LOAD DATA INFILE filename.extIf the mysql command does not work then this maybe because you do not have MySQL 'FILE' privileges. In which case use this slower, but failsafe method:c:\mysql\bin> mysql
mysql> LOAD DATA LOCAL INFILE filename.extThat should do it. Post back if you have probs.Hey thanx for the help,

this is basicly what i did and this is what happend
-i typed "mysql -umyusername -pmypassword"
-then "conenct nameofdatabase"
then i typed the command in and it gave me this

mysql> LOAD DATA LOCAL INFILE live_db.txt;
ERROR 1064: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'live_db.txt'
at line 1

what happened? i got the newest stable release of mysql jus so u know. I dont even knwo anything about dump files. Here is a bit of the dump file. Can you tell me if this is one that i can load like that into the database? I tried it as is and also i tried cleaning out everything with a "#" in front of it and it said the same thing.

# MySQL dump 4.0
#
# Host: localhost Database: uc_livedb
#--------------------------------------------------------

# db name should be..: uc_livedb

#
# Table structure for table 'chat_rooms'
#
CREATE TABLE chat_rooms (
ID int(11) DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL auto_increment,
location_desc char(61),
room_limit int(11),
PRIMARY KEY (ID)
);

#
# Dumping data for table 'chat_rooms'