Full, semi or none (Manage me!?)

wxdqz

I've been following discussions on whether or not one needs managed hosting on dedicated servers. I know this is arguably impossible to agree on in general, but anyway... ...I thought it would be fun, aswell as informative, to set up a specific case: ME The point is to try to find out what a user like me (someone who needs a dedicated server now) needs to worry about. I have a degree in informations science: best described as an arts approach to human-computer-interaction topics. This includes:- a java exam, UML, OO design and specifically system analysis- worked as user on Fedora, Mac OS and of course Windows- besides html and css I've programmed in php, although this is not something i've spent alot of time with, and won't be doing in my professional life. All in all school has given me an, at least, average understanding of general computer mechanics, including software and hardware. I can build a computer and have an pretty good understanding of what the different things do (software and hardware). I run a few websites, mostly static, but also some small content systems based on what free software i can find. I've always had a semi large webhotel, with a descent controlpanel - with phpmyadmin, webshell, email configuration and so on. But I have NEVER set up a server (but read about it, and could presumably set up my home PC with a packaged install pretty qucik), I have NEVER run a shared or dedicated server. I'm trying to paint a picture, that I have descent technical knowledge - and a genuine interest in IT. If I dont know what something is, or, what it does, I could probably pick it up pretty quickly - or get a friend to help. Could I manage to run a dedicated server with full featured setup but no management? If not, wouldnt the main issues for this be taken care of with a semi-managed sollution (with OS, firewall and e-mail patching). Or should I forget about anything else than a fully managed server? Lets just say th